Shri Shivaraj Singh Chauhan, Hon'ble Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh released the Handbook on "Legal Provisions for Women Empowerment in India" compiled by Alliance of Indian MSMEs

Legal Rights to Women:

The following various legislation’s contain several rights and safeguards for women:

  1. Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act (2005) is a comprehensive legislation to protect women in India from all forms of domestic violence. It also covers women who have been/are in a relationship with the abuser and are subjected to violence of any kind—physical, sexual, mental, verbal or emotional.
  2. Immoral Traffic (Prevention) Act (1956) is the premier legislation for prevention of trafficking for commercial sexual exploitation. In other words, it prevents trafficking in women and girls for the purpose of prostitution as an organised means of living.
  3. Indecent Representation of Women (Prohibition) Act (1986) prohibits indecent representation of women through advertisements or in publications, writings, paintings, figures or in any other manner.
  4. Commission of Sati (Prevention) Act (1987) provides for the more effective prevention of the commission of sati and its glorification on women.
  5. Dowry Prohibition Act (1961) prohibits the giving or taking of dowry at or before or any time after the marriage from women.
  6. Maternity Benefit Act (1961) regulates the employment of women in certain establishments for certain period before and after child-birth and provides for maternity benefit and certain other benefits.
  7. Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act (1971) provides for the termination of certain pregnancies by registered medical practitioners on humanitarian and medical grounds.
  8. Pre-Conception and Pre-Natal Diagnostic Techniques (Prohibition of Sex Selection) Act (1994)prohibits sex selection before or after conception and prevents the misuse of pre-natal diagnostic techniques for sex determination leading to female foeticide.
  9. Equal Remuneration Act (1976) provides for payment of equal remuneration to both men and women workers for same work or work of a similar nature. It also prevents discrimination on the ground of sex, against women in recruitment and service conditions.
  10. Dissolution of Muslim Marriages Act (1939) grants a Muslim wife the right to seek the dissolution of her marriage.
  11. Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Divorce) Act (1986)protects the rights of Muslim women who have been divorced by or have obtained divorce from their husbands.
  12. Family Courts Act (1984) provides for the establishment of Family Courts for speedy settlement of family disputes.
  13. Indian Penal Code (1860) contains provisions to protect Indian women from dowry death, rape, kidnapping, cruelty and other offences.
  14. Code of Criminal Procedure (1973) has certain safeguards for women like obligation of a person to maintain his wife, arrest of woman by female police and so on.
  15. Indian Christian Marriage Act (1872) contain provisions relating to marriage and divorce among the Christian community.
  16. Legal Services Authorities Act (1987) provides for free legal services to Indian women.
  17. Hindu Marriage Act (1955) introduced monogamy and allowed divorce on certain specified grounds. It provided equal rights to Indian man and woman in respect of marriage and divorce.
  18. Hindu Succession Act (1956) recognizes the right of women to inherit parental property equally with men.
  19. Minimum Wages Act (1948) does not allow discrimination between male and female workers or different minimum wages for them.
  20. Mines Act (1952) and Factories Act (1948) prohibits the employment of women between 7 P.M. to 6 A.M. in mines and factories and provides for their safety and welfare.
  21. The following other legislation’s also contain certain rights and safeguards for women:
    • Employees’ State Insurance Act (1948)
    • Plantation Labour Act (1951)
    • Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act (1976)
    • Legal Practitioners (Women) Act (1923)
    • Indian Succession Act (1925)
    • Indian Divorce Act (1869)
    • Parsi Marriage and Divorce Act (1936)
    • Special Marriage Act (1954)
    • Foreign Marriage Act (1969)
    • Indian Evidence Act (1872)
    • Hindu Adoptions and Maintenance Act (1956).
  22. National Commission for Women Act (1990) provided for the establishment of a National Commission for Women to study and monitor all matters relating to the constitutional and legal rights and safeguards of women.
  23. Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal). Act (2013)provides protection to women from sexual harassment at all workplaces both in public and private sector, whether organised or unorganized.

© All right reserved.